Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Miss World 2011 Top 10 "Beauty with a Purpose" finalists announced

The Miss World Organization (MWO) has announced on Wednesday, November 2, 2011, the Top 10 candidates vying for the "Beauty with a Purpose" fast-track title, winner of which will have an automatic slot in the semis.

As announced both on MWO's official website and Facebook Page, the Top 10 "Beauty with a Purpose" finalists are as follows:

Ecuador, Maria VARGAS
Ghana, Stephanie KARIKARI
India, Kanishtha DHANKHAR
Indonesia, Astrid YUNADI
Kenya, Catherine ANYANGO
Philippines, Gwendoline RUAIS
Scotland, Jennifer REOCH
South Africa, Bokang MONTJANE
Zimbabwe, Malaika MUSHANDU

Miss Spain World 2011 Carla Garcia Barber Photo
Miss Spain Carla Garcia Barber, 20, a student of Medicine, is Primera Klase's pick to win the Beauty with a Purpose fast-track. (Photo from Facebook)

The Beauty with a Purpose fast-track is only one of the 5 fast-track titles in the Miss World 2011 pageant. The others are Beach Beauty, Top Model, Sportswoman and Talent.

And so far, only 10 out of 113 Miss World 2011 candidates have been at least shortlisted in the five (5) fast-track events.

They were the contestants from Bolivia, Kazakhstan, Paraguay, Philippines, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Sweden, Ukraine, Venezuela and Zimbabwe.

The winners of these titles will be announced during the Miss World 2011 finals on November 6 at the Earls Court Two in London.

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Denver Burns is Mr. South Africa 2010

As Mr. South Africa 2009 Runner Up competes in Korea for the Mr. World 2010 tilt, a new Mr. South Africa titleholder has just been crowned last Saturday at the Silverstar Casino in South Africa.

Port Elizabeth's Denver Burns (middle) has won the title of Mr. South Africa 2010 and will represent his country in the Mr. World 2011 (if there is). Durban's Patrick Kasongo (left) was 1st Runner Up while Cape Town's Ruan Groenewald was the 2nd Runner Up.

More pics of the winners:

Mr. South Africa 2010 Denver Burns

1st Runner Up Patrick Kasongo

2nd Runner Up Ruan Groenewald

Photo Credits: MRSA and Jacaranda

Thursday, March 11, 2010

Mr. Philippines Alvin De Joya send-off to Mr. World 2010 pageant

Mr. Philippines Alvin De Joya was given a send-off party by his National Director last Wednesday before he travels to Incheon, Korea for the Mr. World 2010 contest. It was held at the Gazebo, South Gate, Araneta Coliseum in Cubao, Quezon City, Philippines.

Alvin is now in Korea to compete with 70plus other candidates.

Photos from OPMB Worldwide/Bruce Casanova

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Miss Earth 2009 Grand Coronation Night - Final Q & A

Judging the Final Interview Portion of the recently concluded Miss Earth 2009 pageant, it seems like Miss Philippines Sandra Seifert gave the best answer.

She was relaxed and very spontaneous. A Miss Universe material, but sadly, a 1st Runner Up title was all she could get in Miss Earth 2009.

Because according to rumors, Miss Earth organization gave in to the pressure of not having a back-to-back win for the Philippines.

Most of the 80 candidates reportedly were more than happy to hear that Miss Brazil won the title instead of Miss Philippines.

That is why, Miss Philippines was seen crying after the coronation night.

A lot of people also noticed Miss Poland refusing to hold hands with Miss Philippines during the announcement of the winners.

And also, after Miss Brazil was crowned, only a few flock to Miss Philippines to congratulate her at least as this year's 2nd placer.

Watch the video of the said Interview Portion...

Miss Earth 2009 is Miss Brazil Larissa Ramos

Larissa Ramos, a 20 year-old Biology student from Brazil, has won the title of Miss Earth 2009 held on November 22, 2009 in Boracay, Philippines.

It's the second time that a candidate from Brazil won the Miss Earth crown.

The first Brazilian Miss Earth was Priscilla Meirelles in 2004.

Incidentally, Meirelles, who is now a fast-rising TV personality in the Philippines, was the chairman of the board of judges during the Miss Earth 2009 pageant.

Official Results:

Miss Air - Sandra Seifert (Philippines)
Miss Water - Jessica Barboza (Venezuela)
Miss Fire - Alejandra Echeverria (Spain)

Alejandra Castillo Munera (Colombia)
Pascale Nelide (Martinique)
Izabela Wilczek (Poland)
Rujinan Phanseethum (Thailand)

Magalie Thierry (France)
Nonna Diakonidze (Georgia)
Shriya Kishore (India)
Yeju Park (Korea)
Kayleigh O'Reilly (Northern Ireland)
Gabriela Rejala (Paraguay)
Valerie Lim (Singapore)
Chanel Grantham (South Africa)

Thanks to Miss Earth Foundation for the photo!